Diodes Menu Close

自然语言就是新一代的用户接口

Diodes 公司欧洲应用经理 Colin Davies

高带宽因特网联机、深度学习算法及高质量音频的完美结合,为用户接口带来全新典范,那就是语音。透过自然语言与家电及云端服务进行互动的能力,是人机互动方式的巨大变革。

目前的数字助理看来像是达到现今技术的巅峰,但实际上只是新世代用户接口的起点。语音识别是一项已存在多年的技术,例如现在已有许多软件套件可将语音转换为文字。不同之处在于软件解译文字的方式。目前为止,软件只是单纯转播文字到屏幕上,但最近机器似乎能理解意图及词汇。这种人工智能技术将在未来几年内普及,这代表能更容易取得技术,并整合至日常用品中。

制造商未来将面临的挑战,是如何为更小的电子装置加入高水平的音频质量。穿戴式技术的趋势是与 AI 及自然语言接口同步发展,因此结合两者需要更高的整合度以维持保真度。

音讯保真度

音讯保真度的关键部分在于放大器的选择。大多数放大器的性质为线性,包括 A 类、B 类或 AB (请参阅图 1 以比较三者)。虽然所有线性放大器都能以最小噪声提供良好的增益,但由于接收器 (人耳) 非常善于分辨两者的差异,因此讯噪比 (SNR) 在音讯应用中变得更为重要。上述各类放大器在功耗与效能方面各有优缺点,因此需要不同的偏压类别。

class d audio

1aA 类放大器

 

audio headphone amplifier

1bB 类放大器

 

analog headphone amplifier

1cAB 类放大器

 

在目前新出现的应用中,音频清晰度与功耗方面的效率都非常重要。所有线性放大器都有一定程度的偏压,以提供良好的线性度,但电源效率较差。例如,A 类放大器使用偏压单晶体管,即使输入讯号为零也会导通。B 类放大器使用两个晶体管,每半个周期一个晶体管,因此理论上,任何时间皆只有一个晶体管导通。如此可提升电源效率,但通常会造成交越失真。而 AB 类放大器藉由稍微改变偏压,降低交越失真。尽管 AB 类在大多数情况下是理想的折衷方案,但仍仅提供约 80% 的效率,对于某些电池供电及携带式应用而言,可能还是不够理想。

D 类放大器与正规放大器拓扑有极大的差异,其并非线性放大输入,而是将讯号数字化,转换为脉波宽度调变 (PWM) 方波以呈现输入讯号。上述「全开/全关」的方法可提供 90% 以上的高效率,但仍需过滤输出以恢复讯号的模拟成分,这可能会带来额外的设计困难。尽管如此,由于具备多项设计特点, PAM8014免滤波 D 类放大器仍在其领域展现长远的进步。其提供 3.2 W 单声道输出功率及超过 90%的效率,具有高电源供应抑制比与差分设计,可大幅降低噪声与 RF 反射的影响。

制作更好的 D 类放大器

D 类拓扑通常利用比较器来实现,将输入讯号与参考讯号进行比较,建立实际的 1-bit ADC;如图 2 所示,当输入讯号大于参考讯号时,比较器的输出为高,当输入低于参考时,输出讯号为低。

class d amp

2D 类放大器利用比较器将模拟讯号转换为一系列脉冲,建立 PWM 输出,通常须经由低通滤波器才能恢复模拟讯号

输出被馈送至由两个或四个切换 FET 组成的切换级。双 FET 输出级通常由互补 FET (PNP NPN) 组成,并做为半桥运作。此设计的缺点是即使输出不变,电流也会通过负载,因为输出偏压为 VDD/2。使用全桥输出级可克服上述问题,全桥实作使用四个由两个半桥级组成的 FET。如此可在输出电流中产生双向摆动,称为桥接式负载 (BTL)。尽管此种设计使用两倍数量的 FET,其亦提供显著的优势,特别是因为将偏移套用至负载的两端,从而消除与半桥设计的高静态电流相关的损耗。图 3 显示 PAM8014 D 类放大器的区块图,采用全桥 BTL 设计。

class d amp

3PAM8014 以全桥 BTL 拓扑为基础,以极小型封装提供优异的效能

BTL 拓扑整合至 D 类放大器中需要经过谨慎设计,以在单一整合封装中达到有效的输出功率水平。在采用更先进扬声器技术的音讯应用中,这并不是问题,实际上更为携带式及电池供电装置开创许多新的潜在应用。

无通滤波器

如果 D 类放大器仍需要输出级通过一个大型且成本可能很高的低通滤波器,则可能会失去上述系统层级的优势。建构低通滤波器所需的独立被动组件 (例如大到足以处理输出功率的电感器),很可能会占用比放大器本身更多的 PCB 空间,并大幅增加成本。

移除 PWM 输出中的高频时,通常需要低通滤波器,是许多应用中不可或缺的部分。低通滤波器所需的额外 PCB 空间与成本可能导致某些应用无法使用 D 类放大器,但实际上这在音讯应用中可能会带来正面作用。

扬声器实际上由线圈组成,线圈本质上是具有串联电阻的电感器,这两个组件是实现低通滤波器的关键。实际上,扬声器的内建电感器可透过此方式加以利用,然而 BTL 输出级的设计必须支持无滤波器的设计。这一点很重要,因为若非如此,可能会使电流持续流过扬声器,这可能导致使用寿命缩短。另外,如果输出有所偏压,可能会限制扬声器的动态范围。PAM8014 D 类放大器的 BTL 输出级设计用于无滤波器运作,因此可避免所有上述缺陷,同时可为音讯应用带来 D 类运作的优势。

虽然人耳是天然的高频滤波器,但也容易接收到各种形式的噪声。因此优良的 D 类放大器将实作内部反馈,以提供最佳的总谐波失真 + 噪声 (THD + N) 数值;在此情况下,PAM8014 通常在输出功率 0.5 W @ 1 kHz 时提供 0.14%。

PAM8014 的其他进阶功能还包括关断模式,最多可将供电电流降至 1 µA。PAM8014 也整合了专用电路,可在开启与关闭时或从关断模式退出时,大幅减少瞬态可能产生的「啪啪声与咔嚓声」。特殊模式可使内部放大器静音,直到参考电压稳定为止,藉此达到上述功效;一旦稳定之后,即恢复完全运作模式。其他功能还包括:欠压锁定 (UVLO),如果供电压低于 2.0 V,将使 PAM8014 进入关断模式;短路保护 (SCP),如果输出端相互短路或接地,此功能可保护装置;过热保护 (OTP),如果晶粒温度超过 150°C,将使装置进入关断模式。

PAM8014 采用 U-WLB1313-9 晶圆级 BGA 封装 (参阅图 4),每一边尺寸皆小于 1.3 mm,即使是最小的装置也适用。

The PAM8014 is provided in a Wafer-Level BGA package measuring less than 1.3 mm

4PAM8014 采用晶圆级 BGA 封装,每一边尺寸皆小于 1.3 mm

PAM8014 的固定增益为 18 dB,效率高达 93%,仅需最少的外部组件,如图 5 所示。 

The PAM8014 requires very few external components, making it ideal for space-con

5PAM8014 仅需极少的外部组件,非常适合空间有限及超低功耗的应用

上述先进功能让 PAM8014 非常适用于各种应用,包括智能型手机、VOIPMP4/MP3 播放器,当然还有数字助理。

下载本文的 PDF 檔

返回文章索引

Diodes Menu Close
Diodes Pericom: A product line of Diodes Incorporated

Natural Language is the New User Interface

Colin Davies, Applications Manager Europe, Diodes Inc. 

The ‘perfect storm’ of high bandwidth internet connectivity, deep learning algorithms and high-quality audio is enabling a new paradigm in user interfaces: the spoken word. The ability to interact with household appliances and cloud-based services through natural language is truly a sea-change in the way people and machines interact.

Digital assistants may seem like the pinnacle of technology today, but really they are just the beginning of the next generation of user interface. Speech recognition, as a technology, has been around for many years; there are numerous software packages designed to turn speech into text, for example. The difference is how the software interprets the text. To date, it has simply been relayed to a screen, but more recently the machines seem to understand the intent, as well as the words. This level of artificial intelligence is going to become pervasive over the next few years, which means it will be easier to access and more attractive to integrate into everyday items.

The challenge for manufacturers will be how to add a high level of audio quality to ever-smaller electronic devices. Wearable technology is a trend developing in parallel with AI and natural language interfaces, so combining the two will demand a higher level of integration in order to preserve fidelity.

Audio Fidelity

A key part of audio fidelity lies in the choice of amplifier. Most amplifiers are linear in nature, being either Class A, Class B or Class AB (see Figure 1 for a comparison of the three). While all linear amplifiers can deliver good gain with minimum noise, the signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) becomes more important in audio applications, due to the receiver (the human ear) being very good at discerning between the two. Each of the above classes of amplifier have their good points and their bad points when it comes to power and performance, hence the need for the different biasing classes. 

class d audio

Figure 1a: A Class A amplifier

 

audio headphone amplifier

Figure 1b: A Class B amplifier

 

analog headphone amplifier

Figure 1c: A Class AB amplifier

 

In the kind of applications now emerging, efficiency both in terms of audio clarity and power will be important. All linear amplifiers are biased to be permanently ‘on’ to some degree, which delivers good linearity but poor power efficiency. For example, a Class A amplifier uses a single transistor biased such that it conducts even when the input signal is zero. Class B amplifiers use two transistors, one for each half-cycle, so in theory only one transistor is conducting at any one time. This can improve power efficiency but often at the cost of introducing crossover distortion. Class AB amplifiers improve on this by shifting the bias slightly to minimise crossover distortion. While Class AB is a good compromise in most cases, it can still only deliver around 80% efficiency, which for some battery-powered and portable applications may not be good enough. 

The Class D amplifier is a significant departure from regular amplifier topologies. Instead of amplifying the input linearly, it digitises the signal, turning it into a pulse-width modulated (PWM) square-wave representation of the input signal. This ‘fully on/fully off’ approach can deliver very high efficiencies of over 90%, but comes with the additional need to filter the output in order to recover the analogue component of the signal, which can create additional design challenges. However, the  PAM8014 Filterless Class D amplifier represents a significant advancement in its field, thanks to a number of design features. It offers 3.2 W of mono output power and an efficiency of over 90%, with high power-supply rejection ratio and a differential design that can significantly reduce the impact of noise and RF reflections.

Making a better Class D amplifier

The Class D topology is typically realised using a comparator to compare the input signal with a reference signal to create what is effectively a 1-bit ADC; when the input signal is greater than the reference the comparator’s output is high, and it is low when the input is lower than the reference, as shown in Figure 2. 

class d amp

Figure 2: A Class D amplifier uses a comparator to turn an analogue signal into a series of pulses, creating a PWM output which normally needs to be passed through a low-pass filter in order to recover the analogue signal

The output is fed to the switching stage, formed by either two or four switching FETs. A two-FET output stage would typically be formed from complementary FETs (PNP and NPN), operating as a half-bridge. A disadvantage of this design is that current flows through the load even if the output is not changing, as the output is biased at VDD/2. Using a full-bridge output stage overcomes this. A full-bridge implementation uses four FETs, formed from two half-bridge stages. This produces a bidirectional swing in output current and is referred to as a bridge-tied load (BTL). Although this design uses twice as many FETs it provides significant benefits, not least because the offset is applied to both sides of the load, thereby removing the losses associated with the high quiescent current of a half-bridge design. Figure 3 shows a block diagram of the PAM8014 Class D amplifier, which features a full-bridge BTL design.

class d amp

Figure 3: The PAM8014 is based on a full-bridge BTL topology to deliver superior performance in a tiny package

Integrating a BTL topology into a Class D amplifier requires careful design in order to achieve a useful level of output power in a single integrated package. In audio applications using more advanced speaker technology, this is less of an issue and actually opens up a host of new potential applications in portable and battery-powered devices. 

No-pass filter

These system-level advantages might be lost if the Class D amplifier still requires the output stage to be passed through a large and potentially costly low-pass filter. The discrete passive components needed to construct a low-pass filter, such as an inductor big enough to handle the output power, can easily take up more PCB space than the amplifier itself, as well as adding significant cost.

The low-pass filter is normally required to remove the high frequencies in the PWM output, so it is integral to many applications. The extra PCB space and costs required for the low-pass filter could mean that using a Class D amplifier isn’t possible in some applications – however, this could actually be turned into a positive in audio applications.

Speakers are effectively formed from a coil, which is essentially an inductor with a series resistance; two of the components needed to realize a low-pass filter. The built-in inductance of a speaker can actually be exploited in this way; however, it does require the BTL output stage to have been designed to support filterless design. This is important because, if not, there could be a current flowing through the speaker at all times, which could result in a reduced operational lifetime. Also, if the output has a bias on it, it could limit the speaker’s dynamic range. The BTL output stage of the PAM8014 Class D amplifier has been designed for filterless operation and so avoids all of these pitfalls, while also bringing the advantages of Class D operation to audio applications.

While the human ear is a natural high-frequency filter, it is also adept at picking up noise in all its forms. This is why a good Class D amplifier will implement internal feedback in order to deliver the best total harmonic distortion + noise (THD + N) figures; in this case the PAM8014 typically delivers 0.14% at an output power of 0.5 W @ 1 kHz.

Other advanced features of the PAM8014 include shutdown mode, which reduces the supply current drawn to a maximum of just 1 µA. The PAM8014 also integrates circuitry dedicated to minimising the ‘pops and clicks’ that can result from transients during turn-on and turn-off, or when coming out of shutdown mode. This is achieved using a special mode that mutes the internal amplifiers until the reference voltage is stable; once stable, full operating mode is restored. Other features include: undervoltage lock-out (UVLO), which puts the PAM8014 into shutdown mode if the supply voltage drops below 2.0 V; short-circuit protection (SCP), which protects the device should the outputs be shorted to each other or to ground; and over-temperature protection (OTP), which puts the device into shutdown mode if the die temperature rises above 150°C.

The PAM8014 is provided in the U-WLB1313-9 Wafer-Level BGA package (see Figure 4), an outline that measures less than1.3 mm on each side, making it suitable for even the smallest device. 

The PAM8014 is provided in a Wafer-Level BGA package measuring less than 1.3 mm

Figure 4: The PAM8014 is provided in a Wafer-Level BGA package measuring less than 1.3 mm on each side

With a fixed gain of 18 dB and an efficiency of up to 93%, the PAM8014 requires a minimum of external components, as shown in Figure 5. 

The PAM8014 requires very few external components, making it ideal for space-con

Figure 5: The PAM8014 requires very few external components, making it ideal for space-constrained and ultra-low power applications

These advanced features make the PAM8014 ideal for a wide range of applications, including smartphones, VOIP, MP4/MP3 players and, of course, digital assistants. 

Download a PDF of this article

Return to Index of Articles